Twine, Burlap, and Window Hangings

Time:  2 hours
Cost:  $$$
Difficulty:  4/10
Overall Ranking:  9/10

Heaven is among us in the form of thrifting.  Lately, DIY and thrifting is all the trend when pinners refurbish a piece of furniture.  Turn drab to fab just as easily as infomercials.   Needless to say, I love picking up old furniture from antique malls and revamping them.  My favorite pin right now are flipped window hangings.

WindowHanging1

Full disclaimer:  I have, in fact, flipped a nightstand before (check out my past DIY projects to the right).  However, I never used painter’s tape (tape is actually much trickier than just sticking it down, by the way), and this week’s project was my first time flipping a window.

windowcollage

Why a window?  Well, Maroon 5 just says tap on it, and you’ll feel beautiful.  That’s why.

I found my baby (as I am now sincerely attached to my window) at Lawson Hill Antique Mall in Kirksville, Missouri.  In case you’re in the area, I found it to be helpful and full of lovely, charming little trinkets.  I picked out a white, peeling, chipped window from among the trove.  Next, I headed over to a home improvement store for supplies, picked out the most chipper shade of aquamarine, and sprawled everything out at my apartment.

All one really has to do in flipping furniture is clean off the furniture, sand (if needed), and paint.  Since this was a window, I needed painter’s tape.  After the coldest morning in my exaggerated history, when I almost lost my fingers to the October frost, I finally painted a semi-attractive window.  Although I love the color, my painting job is only decent at best, so maybe be more careful rather than freezing to death when putting on painter’s tape.  I also didn’t have much experience with painter’s tape, but the gist is to try to get the edges to line up without overlap with what needs to be painted.

Then, I threw on some burlap, twine, clothespins, and pictures.  Watch out for the burlap if you’re wearing a sweater; it’ll getcha.  The twine, on the other hand, I wonder if I could make a sweater out of my beloved twine.

Whatever you think looks good, you do it.  You do you.  And let me know how it turns out.   I personally did not fully love some of the Pinterest ideas, so I made my own design from scratch.  This is a step I would definitely encourage to be personalized to add to the project overall.

I loved this DIY project because it was so easy, and the project looks stellar!  My DIY window hanging is personalized to what I will use for years to come.  Although it may be difficult to find furniture at a reasonable price, check out some of your own local thrift stores because you never know exactly what you will find to personalize!

And maybe if I tap on my DIY window enough times, Adam Levine will show up in my kitchen.

adam levine

Leave a Reply

