Fall Wreaths and What-Knot

Time:  1 hour
Cost:  $
Difficulty:  2/10
Overall Ranking:  7/10

Remember my compulsive fondness over the inanimate texture and versatility of twine?  THE TWINE HAS BEEN REVIVED FOR THIS BLOG.  I would say my love for twine is just one of the many ways I would describe my dreams and passions.  But, ultimately, I would describe myself as a ‘Merican beauty.

fallwreath1

There’s this song Drew Holcomb literally wrote for me, and, in the second verse, he describes me by saying, “She was déjà vu/She was a catch-22/She was an American beauty.”  It’s like he knows me better than I know myself, ya know?

That rustic, deep voice from Holcomb never fails to make me crave everything fall – bonfires, worn-out boots, and the satisfaction of stepping on a crunchy leaf.  And, what’s more representative of a cozy autumn season than the warm welcome of a fall wreath?

So, today, I created my own fall wreath for the front door of my apartment, and it’ll make you want a pumpkin spice latte it’s so great.  I don’t even like lattes.

fallwreathcollage

Basically, all this project entails is a productive trip to Walmart and some creativity.  Pick out a wreath for the base, colorful flowers, burlap, and lace.  Make sure to grab floral wiring to tie the flowers to the wealth.  Otherwise, in my situation, the barn sparrows that typify my Midwestern home would steal my flowers like they stole my Barbie toys, but that’s a completely different story.  You might consider adding a chalkboard sign or small pumpkins to your wreath as well.

First, I made a bow from the burlap, which is not that difficult.  Check out the instructions that I used, and you’ll be good to go!  Burlap, unfortunately, comes apart as easily as me when watching Rom-Coms, so watch out for that.

loverosie

Chop the flowers from their plastic stem, and jab them nicely into the sides of the wreath.  Add extra texture to the project by adding smaller flowers, lace accents, or small twigs.  I prefer to add all of my decorations on one side of the wreath to avoid clutter.

Use a wreath hanger to sling the décor over your front door, and you’ll always be expecting to smell warm fall-scented candles every time you come home.  Ah, yes, to be young and in fall.  This project is inexpensive and very easy to personalize.

Have you done any fall projects lately?  Tell me all about them in the comments section, or stay up-to-date with my projects on my Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

