Powdered to Perfection Funnel Cakes

Time:  30 minutes
Cost:  $$
Difficulty:  5/10
Overall Ranking:  9/10

Fried chicken, fried potatoes, onion rings, hush puppies, potato chips, and more fried, fried, fried foods.

Luckily for you, I’m not a health nut.  That’s right, people; I made my own homemade funnel cakes today.  All cakes are meant for me to eat, but this cake – this cake is meant for me to love.

funnelcakecollage

Homemade funnel cakes have been my dream creation since as long as I can remember, so I dared to commit to it this week as one of my last DIY projects (but surely not the last).  I’m almost as committed to this as I was to Josh Golden and the Jonas Brothers in middle school.  Since this project is so simple, I decided to also throw in this post some easy tips on creating your own DIY projects in general.  Two-in-one got me like:

jonas

  1. Pick something that you actually want to do and have use for.
    There are plenty of great pins on Pinterest!  If you want melted crayon art, get your hairdryer ready.  If you have a dream to be eating fried sugar while watching Project Runway reruns (like me), get out the skillet.  Be inspired, and don’t take no for an answer.
  1. Be creative with your materials.
    Tonight, I combined your everyday combination of milk, eggs, vanilla, sugar, flour, salt, and baking soda (and extra, supreme extra, butter).  The typical.  But, let’s just say you live in, I don’t know, northern Missouri, and there isn’t a craft store nearby.  Don’t be afraid to revamp or modify the original pin.  You won’t be able to find the exact replica, but your version will be better anyway, I’m sure.
  1. Take risks.
    As soon as I mixed my bowl of Heaven together, I threw it on to the bubbly oil in a skillet.  That takes real guts.  And, you can bet that gut got bigger after this project. Needless to say, you can’t be shy around potential funnel cakes.  If you’re really scared of using a certain kind of material, search for alternatives that would be safer, such as wood glue instead of a power drill.
  1. Be patient.
    I flipped my funnel cake too early out of pure childlike excitement and lost some of it.  LAME.  Don’t be me.  Don’t rush perfection.
  1. Personalize it.
    After the funnel cake is done, you can add anything you want – powdered sugar, chocolate syrup, ice cream, or fruit (but I’ll judge the healthy status)!  Whether it is tasty food or another DIY project, there are always ways to add initials, pictures, or your own personal touch.  This will make the project mean even more to you and the project more fun.
  1. Share.
    What’s life without those to share it with?  Make sure to include others in your endeavors, or use DIY projects as Christmas present inspiration.  You never know who you might inspire.

Overall, I wasn’t exaggerating on the gut comment.  The funnel cake project was superb, and I would definitely encourage you all to try making your own carnival at home, even if I did originally scream at the bubbling skillet.  This project didn’t take hardly any time, and it’s actually a lot easier than it looks!

Go for it.  You know you’re craving some sweets.  While you’re at it, add your own helpful DIY tips in the comment section below or message me on my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

